Food for Thought: Hakka Style Chicken with Spring Onion and Ginger

When I first started this blog I wanted to avoid being just some other food blog. I also didn’t want it to be just some other food blog about Chinese food. Not because I thought it was a terrible idea, but more because I never regarded myself as the culinary expert on Chinese food, and I’m still not.

But this doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy food, I do, I just don’t consider myself a culinary expert. But that doesn’t mean I can’t share some of the other foods that I enjoy eating outside the takeaway.

A family favourite in the Wong household is Hakka style chicken with spring onion and ginger.

Hak-ka 客家(the dialect, not the war cry) literally translates to “guest family”. Hakka people (客家人) are Han Chinese people who have migrated from the north of China to the south, often settling in Hong Kong, some going as far as Malaysia and Singapore.

But anyway, one dish that is quite popular is chicken with spring onion and ginger; this consists of a boiled chicken (save the stock, and carve)

The garnish is simply spring onion and ginger chopped finely, put it into a bowl (not a plastic one), sprinkle a little bit of salt, heat some oil until hot and then pour it into the bowl with the spring onion and ginger, but don’t completely drown it in hot oil.

One thought on “Food for Thought: Hakka Style Chicken with Spring Onion and Ginger

  1. mmm it looks fantastic – i love how it’s so simple.

    As for blogging I think it’s important to blog whatever and however you want – who cares what other people think!

Leave a Reply

